2020

Synergy

APAC

NOVember 24th
REGISTER NOW
Registration for the virtual event has closed. Please complete your registration to receive access to the on-demand program, coming soon!

Uniting to Make Better Decisions in a Post-Pandemic World

Moody's Analytics Synergy 2020 APAC will bring together the most relevant and diverse content into one program to help financial institutions, big and small, respond to the new economic and financial environment. This 1-day event will provide industry insight and active discussion around the most critical themes, and enable you to connect with Moody's Analytics experts and peers, all to help you better prepare for success in 2021.

What to Expect

Keynote Speakers

Chief Economist

MOODY'S ANALYTICS

CEO & Director

DBS GROUP

Agenda

General Sessions
10:00 AM SGT
11:00 AM JST
1:00 PM AEDT
Welcome Address / Keynote Presentation: The Pandemic Economy Post the Presidential Election

Dr. Mark Zandi, Chief Economist
Dr. Steve Cochrane, Chief APAC Economist
11:30 AM SGT
12:30 PM JST
2:30 PM AEDT
Fireside Chat: Do the Old Rules Still Matter? The New Credit Environment and Its Implications for Banks

Navigating the new normal is more challenging than ever for banks.  More than a decade on from the global financial crisis, banks need to evolve quickly to an uncertain economic landscape, shifting regulatory requirements, the threats and opportunities posed by new technologies such as AI, and the increasing awareness that banks have an important role to play in environmental and social efforts.
This all raises the question, "do the old rules still matter?" Please join us for an exclusive fireside chat with Mr. Piyush Gupta, CEO and Director of DBS Group, who will share his views on how banks can adapt, survive, and thrive in the face of rapid change.


Mr. Piyush Gupta, Chief Executive Officer and Director, DBS
Dr. David Hamilton, Managing Director, Credit Risk Analytics Asia Pacific
12:30 PM SGT
1:30 PM JST
3:30 PM AEDT
Demo Stations / 1:1 Live Chats
1:30 PM SGT
2:30 PM JST
4:30 PM AEDT
Session 1 (choose a session from the 3 streams below)
2:40 PM SGT
3:40 PM JST
5:40 PM AEDT
Session 2 (choose a session from the 3 streams below)
3:45 PM SGT
4:45 PM JST
6:45 PM AEDT
Demo Stations / 1:1 Live Chats
Content Streams
Time
session
TIME:
1:30 PM SGT
2:30 PM JST
4:30 PM AEDT
DURATION:

Fireside Chat: Decision Analytics: From Measurement to Action

Credit decision making is arguably more difficult than it has ever been. We live in a world awash with data and with a huge array of potential useful credit risk signals. At the same time, the world has become more volatile, making accurate forecasts even more challenging. In this session we will talk about some useful tools and strategies for better credit risk decision analytics. We will focus on bringing the following three areas together:

  • Early warning signals – measures of credit risk are not useful unless they can be turned into timely action.
  • Alternative risk signals – ratings, PD, and other risk measure are tried and true, but new data sources and ML techniques open new frontiers.
  • Credit risk forecasting amid volatility – we need to consider the impacts of different possible futures, not just our best forecast of the expected case.

Mr. David Thomas, Group Chief Risk Officer, CIMB

Dr. David Hamilton, Managing Director, Credit Risk Analytics Asia Pacific

TIME:
2:40 PM SGT
3:40 PM JST
5:40 PM AEDT
DURATION:

Rethinking Consumer Credit Models During the Pandemic and Beyond

The evolving risks of the pandemic are forcing risk managers to reevaluate how they manage and measure risk. Model risk management is especially critical for models used in regulatory stress-testing and IFRS 9 exercises that rely on scenarios. From data and forecast methodologies, to onboarding and monitoring, we will review key model risk management processes and provide best practices to help you navigate these challenges.

Dr. Olga Loiseau-Aslanidi, Head of Risk Modelling, Economics and Business Analytics APAC

Dr. Anamaria Pieschacon, Director, Global Head of Model Validation for Consumer Credit Risk

Dr. Steve Cochrane, Chief APAC Economist

Time
session
TIME:
1:30 PM SGT
2:30 PM JST
4:30 PM AEDT
DURATION:

Integrated Risk & Finance Analytics: Stress Testing, planning and balance sheet optimization in a post-pandemic world

As the Asian economies are slowly starting to adjust to the new norm post COVID-19, lenders face increasing challenges in identifying vulnerable credit exposures, stress test the resilience of their balance sheet under different recovery assumptions and re-direct lending to improve risk-adjusted profitability. In this Moody’s webinar, we will discuss and share best practices on:

  • How to incorporate macroeconomic scenarios into the credit assessment and monitoring process
  • How to streamline the enterprise-wide planning and stress testing process to get actionable analytics
  • How to manage and optimize portfolios under different economic recovery assumptions

Dr. Dimitrios Papanastasiou, Head of Risk and Finance Solutions

Mr. Laurie Antioch, Senior Director, Head of Risk and Finance Analytics – APAC

TIME:
2:40 PM SGT
3:40 PM JST
5:40 PM AEDT
DURATION:

New practices for a resilient, sustainable, commercial lending process

This presentation highlights best practices and innovative ideas in Commercial Credit Decision, focusing on the following aspects:

  • Addressing key risks and inefficiencies in a rapidly evolving credit environment
  • Driving your funnel early using readily available data and connected technologies
  • Enhancing Credit Monitoring using non-traditional data and innovative models
  • Keeping your lending process agile using the most recent technologies

Mr. Keith Berry, Executive Director

Mr. Pierre Gaudin, Senior Director

Time
session
TIME:
1:30 PM SGT
2:30 PM JST
4:30 PM AEDT
DURATION:

The power of data and technology for (better) operational and compliance risk management

The world of money laundering and fraud in the banking system is getting more complex than ever. Over two trillion dollars of laundered money has flowed through the world’s banking system in the last decade with no end in sight. We will explore how to get to the root of the challenges faced by banks and regulators today and how we think the world of risk management will evolve.

  • Public perception around Fincen leaks and the reality faced by compliance officers
  • Root of the problem, and how can we get to the root of the issues
  • How we think the world of compliance will develop from this recent development
  • The use of technology and data to enhance suspected transactions (STR) intelligence

Mr. Choon Hong Chua CAMS, Head of Compliance Solutions, Asia Pacific, Bureau van Dijk, a Moody’s Analytics company

Mr. Kisso Diall, Senior Director, Asia Pacific, Bureau van Dijk, a Moody’s Analytics company

TIME:
2:40 PM SGT
3:40 PM JST
5:40 PM AEDT
DURATION:

The Sky's the Limit: How Cloud Technology is Changing Banking

As the pressure to reduce cost and focus on core business activities continue to rise, it is becoming more challenging for most bankers trying to keep up with technologies and innovations. In this session, we will be having our guest speaker from Asian Development Bank to share their Cloud Journey, followed by a discussion from our cloud experts to address some of the key concerns and misconceptions on cloud-based banking & risk management. Key topics include latest jurisdiction updates, data & security considerations and a framework for cloud solution evaluation.

Mr. Pierre Passin, Director (ITID), Information Technology Department, Asian Development Bank

Mr. Nilanshuk Hadar, Head of APAC Financial Services ISV Partnerships, AWS

Mr. Yann Delacourt, Director, Product Management

Ms. Alicia Yang, Senior Director (Moderator)

Speakers

Chief APAC Economist

Moody's Analytics

Managing Director,
Credit Risk Analytics Asia Pacific

Moody's Analytics

Group Chief Risk Officer

CIMB

Dr. Olga Loiseau-Aslanidi
Head of Risk Modelling, Economics and Business Analytics APAC

Moody's Analytics

Director, Global Head of Model Validation for Consumer Credit Risk

Moody's Analytics

Head of Risk and Finance Solutions

Moody's Analytics

Senior Director, Head of Risk and Finance Analytics – APAC

Moody's Analytics

Executive Director

Moody's Analytics

Senior Director

Moody's Analytics

Head of Compliance Solutions, Asia Pacific

Bureau van Dijk, a Moody’s Analytics company

Senior Director, Asia Pacific

Bureau van Dijk, a Moody’s Analytics company

Director (ITID), Information Technology Department

Asian Development Bank

Head of APAC Financial Services ISV Partnerships

AWS

Director, Product Management

Moody’s Analytics

Managing Director, Enterprise Risk Solutions, APAC

Moody’s Analytics

Managing Director – SEA and ME

Moody’s Analytics

Click Here for Further Information on Synergy 2020 APAC Speakers